2016 Writivism Short Story Prize
Posted by cacedirector
1. The Writivism Short Story Prize
is an annual award for
emerging African writers
administered by the Center for
African Cultural Excellence
2. Entrants must be unpublished
writers, resident in an African
country. One is deemed
published if they have a book
of their own.
3. Any questions of eligibility
shall be resolved by the CACE
administration and their
decision is final.

4. Entries must be submitted
online, by emailing them to
info@writivism.com as
attachments (not in the body
email), clearly labeled in the
subject: 2016 Writivism Short
Story Prize Submission from
January 30 until March 31,
2016. The writer must include
in the body of the email, other
information about him/her, as
country of residence, age, legal
name and pen name (where
applicable) and telephone
5. Only one entry per writer may
be submitted for the Writivism
Short Story Prize. The story
must be original and
previously unpublished in any
form except on the writer’s
personal blog.
6. All entries must be in English
or French, and 2,500 – 3,500
words long.
7. Entries should be attached in
Microsoft Word or Rich Text
formats, with the title of the
story as the file name. The first
page of the story should
include the name of the story
and the number of words.
8. The entry must be typed in
Times New Roman 12 point
font and 1.5 line spacing. No
mention should be made on
the identity of the writer in the
9. Entrants agree as a condition
of entry that CACE may
publicize the fact that a story
has been entered, longlisted or
shortlisted for the Prize. The
shortlisted writers and winners
of the competition will be
expected to participate in
readings, The Writivism
Festival and events at selected
10. Entrants agree as a condition
of entry that CACE may
translate their stories to
English/French and publish the
story in either language in the
annual anthology.
11. Worldwide copyright of each
story remains with the writer.
CACE will have the unrestricted
right to publish and translate
the long-listed stories in an
anthology and for promotional
12. The 2016 prize judging panel
comprises Tsitsi Dangarembga
(Chair), Richard Ali Mutu,
Sumayya Lee, Okwiri Oduor and
Mamadou Diallo.
CLICK HERE to join our Facebook community or drop your email so as not to miss anything.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s